Assault and Battery
Did you know you can be charged with assault and battery for even a minor altercation — even one in which no one is injured? Nevertheless, assault and/or battery is a serious charge, and having a violent crime conviction on your record can complicate your life. That’s why it’s crucial to have a criminal defense attorney on your side when you’re facing assault charges.
Here are the three things you need to know about assault and battery in Virginia.1. Assault and Battery Charges Can Be Brought Even If You Didn’t Hurt the Other Person
The verb “assault” doesn’t mean jumping on someone and letting fists fly. In Virginia, “assault” means to attempt or threaten to inflict bodily injury upon another, accompanied by the apparent ability to carry out the threat if not prevented. So even if you just verbally threaten someone, that could be considered assault. “Battery” means actual, unlawful physical contact with another person. You don’t have to actually hurt someone for assault and battery charges to be brought against you.2. Assault and Battery Cases Are Rarely Clear-Cut
Who instigated the fight? Was it self-defense? Was the physical contact unintentional? Extenuating circumstances and conflicting accounts are common in assault/battery cases. A qualified criminal defense attorney can help you challenge the other participant’s version of events and seek a satisfactory conclusion.3. You Need a Savvy and Affordable Attorney to Defend You Against Assault and Battery Charges
In Virginia, simple assault, assault and battery, and assault on a family member are all Class 1 misdemeanors, which carry a maximum penalty of a $2,500 fine and up to 12 months in prison. More severe charges, such as assault on a police officer, are felonies with maximum sentences of 5 years in prison. Assault charges in Virginia are serious, and that’s why you need an attorney who will work hard for your defense.
Margaret B. Davis is an affordable criminal defense attorney in Richmond, Virginia, who works hard to defend her clients against assault and battery charges. Call or text (804) 354-8800 anytime for a confidential, free consultation.